Children‘s Book Prize 2021

Open for submissions! The 5th Stratford Literary Festival/Salariya Books Children's Picture Book Prize 2021 for unpublished children’s authors and/or illustrators.
First prize £1000!

The Entry Criteria:

Entries are welcomed from unpublished and unrepresented authors, illustrators or author/illustrator teams who have a wonderful story to tell that is suitable as a picture book for children aged 0-5.
We're looking for complete and original stories that will charm and engage young children and help to build a love of reading they will keep for life.

The Competition:

First prize of £1000
Open to previously unpublished and unrepresented authors and/or illustrators
Salariya Books imprint, Scribblers, has an option to publish the winning story
The Prize includes career advice from a leading children’s book agent and publicity through the Stratford Literary Festival

Our 2021 Judging Panel:

David Salariya, Founder and MD of The Salariya Book Company
Annie Ashworth
, Director of the Stratford Literary Festival
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, internationally best-selling children’s author
Jodie Hodges of United Agents, leading literary agent for children’s books
Jane Churchill, children’s literary events programmer
Tamsin Rosewell
, independent bookseller at Kenilworth Books

Click here for the 2021 terms and conditions of entry and how to enter. Please read them carefully before submitting your entry. Submissions that do not comply fully will not be considered. Please note entrants must not have agent representation.

Questions about entry criteria can be emailed here.

2020 joint winner - Jo Surman for "Snow?"

Read an interview with Jo Surman here.

2020 joint winner - Kael Tudor for "One Goose, Two Moose"

Read an interview with Kael Tudor here.


Adelaide Leeder - The Hole Thing
Jacqueline Waller - Bare Bernard


Philippa Corcutt and Rachael Corcutt - Tim The Toucan
Joanna Ghosh - The Rock Giant
Rob Lockton - There's a Gremlin in My Wardrobe
Phil Sheppard - The Worm Book


Our 2019 winner, Manlu Tu, a graduate of the Anglia Ruskin Cambridge School of Art, will have her book, Look Daddy Look, a charming story about a forgetful hedgehog, published by Scribblers, an imprint of The Salariya Book Compnay Ltd, published in May 2020.

Our 2017 winner, Camille Whitcher, a graduate of the Cambridge School of Arts Illustration MA, had her book Luna and The Moon Rabbit, a magical story based on a Far Eastern folk legend, published by Scribblers in 2018.

We did not offer the prize in 2018.

The Arden Hotel advert
facebook twitter youtube instagram phone mail location